Therapy and Social Networking

The integration of  psychology and social media is an important topic to me.  I think Blogging, Twitter and other forms of social networking can bring exciting opportunities to share information, counter stigma and collaborate.  Social media has in fact provided me with a way to connect to other clinicians very much interested in how to manage their online presence productively and ethically!

As a psychologist with an online presence, I am also sensitive to the ramifications of involvement in social media on the therapeutic frame and relationship. What does it mean to a client to encounter their therapist on the Internet? How do we as therapists separate our personal and professional online presences? How do we keep up with the ever-changing online environment and its impact on privacy and therapy boundaries? This are some of the questions I ponder, and I am delighted to find other therapists to have these conversations with.

Dr. Keely Kolmes writes extensively about the implications of social media involvement for therapists and consumers of psychotherapy services at her blog, Mindful Musings. In the wake of  privacy-related changes in Facebook and Google services, we began a conversation about our concerns and approaches to social networking as clinicians.

You can read about that conversation over at her blog: People in Your Social Circle: Dr. Kathleen Young Chats with me About Social Networking Challenges for Clinicians.

Reference:

Kolmes, K. (2010) People in Your Social Circle: Dr. Kathleen Young Chats with me About Social Networking Challenges for Clinicians. Retrieved 6/8/2010 from http://drkkolmes.com/2010/06/07/people-in-your-social-circle-dr-kathleen-young-chats-with-me-about-social-networking-challenges-for-clinicians/.

Kathleen Young, Psy.D.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Mental Health, Psychologist, Social Media, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Therapy and Social Networking

  1. Lisa Klipfel says:

    This subject has been one I’ve been following as well. I’m going to check out her blog right now.

  2. Here’s a lesson I learned a long time ago with my first web site ten years ago. In the course of doing a google on myself and the talk zone one phrase jumped out off of a page that even I was shocked about. Though it was a true statement, when taken out of the context of the whole story I had there, it looked wrong. so I changed the word and realized that it was going to be a fact either way and if my life was to help others move on, then so be it.

    I know it is harder for professionals who don’t want their answers and private messages meant for clients to be broadcast all over, so they do have to remember to only private message. That’s what those are for to get someone’s attention and keep it to no names you don’t want others to see. Price we pay for helping others. I’m glad to see so many more professional therapist out here helping people each day. The blogs like your’s and others like you are the wealth of information that most people in abusive situations can’t get to or afford so you have saved so many by coming online. I thank you and all who suit up each day to share with us.

  3. courageouslover says:

    Great topic. To me, I think that if you have a very clear brand and establish excellent boundaries in the way you communicate on line – you can really add something powerful with your social media presence – a whole other dimension to your work.
    michael sherman -www.courageouslovingnation.com

  4. Marie says:

    Let me put another twist on this . . . I am a consumer of psychotherapy services and I share the details of my therapy experience in detail via my blog.

    I’ve been involved with three different therapists. I always tell them of my intention to publish “what happens” in the sessions. None of them have had an issue with that (they say it is my confidentiality to break) as long as their identities are masked. They have given various reasons why they prefer to have their identities masked . . . and I find the variety of reason to be interesting!

    - Marie (Coming Out of the Trees)

  5. I appreciate everyone sharing their thoughts and experiences about this topic! It is definitely one I will continue to mull over (and over).

    Dr. Kolmes has also developed a Private Practice Social Media Policy. I like the idea of being proactive in addressing issues that may arise and plan to adapt something along those lines for use in my own practice.

Leave a Reply

