Sexual Assault Awareness: Upcoming Events

I can’t believe it is already the last day of the first month of 2012!  I thought I would write a 2011 in review post , but apparently the last half of 2011 has kept me too busy for much blogging. I miss it and hope to write more this year.

The next few months will continue to be busy  on campus as we prepare for Sexual Assault Awareness month in April. This year I will have the opportunity to participate in events I have blogged about in the past! Some of these events will be open to the whole Tucson community, and are a great opportunity to get involved, learn more, and network with others committed to anti-violence.

  • February 7, Santa Cruz Room, Student Union, 5 pm – F.O.R.C.E. and the Women’s Resource Center are hosting a series called Taboo Talks, and I will be participating in the conversation about Women and Sexual Health. While I always want to be sure to clarify that rape is not sex, having experienced that sort of trauma can certainly impact your sexual health (and well-being in general). I look forward to the conversation and questions.

 

  • April 10Take Back the Night march and event. This year the UA Campus and Tucson community are partnering to create one unified event. I will write more about the details of our event and history of Take Back the Night in the weeks to come.

Kathleen Young, Psy.D.

This entry was posted in Activism, Psychologist, Sexual Abuse, Violence, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sexual Assault Awareness: Upcoming Events

  1. Pingback: Until the Violence Stops, I Shall Raise My Voice « Emmie Mears

  2. Pingback: Treating Trauma Link Roundup | Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma

  3. Pingback: Treating Trauma… in Tucson | Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma

Leave a Reply

