Finding a Trauma Therapist

Finding a therapist who is a good fit for you is one of the best predictors of a successful therapy outcome. Is it even harder for trauma survivors? Judging by the number of requests I get for help with this search, it looks like yes. Unfortunately it is true that not all therapists are trained in understanding and treating trauma. The pool may narrow further if you are seeking someone with expertise in treating complex trauma or dissociation.

When I receive calls or email seeking a therapist with these areas of expertise in a particular state (or country) I am happy to share the resources I have. Alas, I do not know trauma therapists in every location! There are some great sources and directories out there, though, and I have decided to feature them more prominently on my blog sidebar. Check out the new heading “Find a Trauma Therapist“.

You can now find links to the International Society for the Study of Trauma and Dissociation Therapist Directory (under construction currently but you can email for a lists of clinicians in your area!), the Sidran Helpdesk, and EMDR trained therapists near you.

If you’d like more information about possibly working with me, there is a link to get you started with that process too. I am available for one-time or ongoing online consultation and coaching and I am licensed to provide psychological services in Arizona and Illinois. I currently have some openings for distance services (email, phone and Skype) and plan to soon offer in-person therapy here in Tucson!

If you are interested in any of those options do feel free to get in touch with me. I also want trauma survivors to know that there are plenty of other options out there. You can find a therapist to help you heal from trauma!

Do you have other great resources for finding a trauma therapist? Let us know in the comments!

This entry was posted in Complex Trauma, Dissociation, Online Therapy, Psychologist, Therapy, Trauma and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Finding a Trauma Therapist

  1. onesurvivor says:

    When you are a ritual abuse survivor, finding the right therapist can be a huge blessing. Finding the wrong one can be a huge nightmare. I have experienced both. *sigh* Other than an occasional phone call with my former therapist, I won’t even venture out into the world of RA therapists…even if I could afford it. And there are definitely times when I wish I could.

    Using skype is an interesting idea. I wonder if my former therapist has that…now that I have it. Great idea.

  2. onesurvivor says:

    Reblogged this on A Survivor's Thoughts on Life and commented:
    There are some good thoughts here on finding a good therapist. Just thought I would pass it on to you.

  3. Amanda says:

    May I just add one thought? Folks may not know that there is a difference between “regular therapists” and “trauma therapists”.

    Personally, while I understood that I had been through traumatic events, I did not know I needed to look for a particular type of therapist to help me. I jumped at the first psychologist that seemed to be a good fit (and thankfully she has been able to help me), but it sounds as though others have not had similar experiences.

    Great post – thank you for writing on this topic. I always enjoy connecting with your posts.

    • Hi Amanda-

      That is so true! I also often see clients who start therapy without conceptualizing “trauma” as the thing they are needing help with. Which of course makes it tricky to find a therapist with that expertise! I imagine many people expect that therapists are able to work with all presenting issues. I think that is why this sort of education and empowerment regarding “interviewing” therapist to find the right fit is so crucial. That and more education for therapist about working with trauma and how pervasive it is!

      I appreciate you commenting. It prompted me to take a look at your latest post which inspired an idea for another post. May I link to your blog when I write it or would you prefer that I not?

      • Amanda says:

        Absolutely, feel free to link to my blog. I’m glad that you stopped in, and that my post inspired an idea :0)

        Have a lovely week!

    • onesurvivor says:

      This is a good point. I had a pretty positive experience with a decent therapist who had no training for trauma and had never even heard of SRA. My nightmare experiences were from therapists who were trained in trauma and SRA therapies. One, in fact, is fairly well known in this field. Another had complaints brought up and, last I heard, was appealing the removal of her license. There are good and bad in every field.

      • I am truly sorry you have had such bad therapy experiences! This conversation brings to mind the medical ethics principal “first do no harm”. An ethical, licensed therapist is a necessary starting point and of course vastly preferable to an “expert” who does something unethical or harmful. These kind of experiences go beyond lack of good fit or incompatible theoretical orientation.

  4. onesurvivor says:

    I agree! Ethics without training may limit usefulness, but training without ethics is a nightmare. Better off with no therapist than a bad one. Kudos to all the good ones out there! They are a special “breed”.

  5. Pingback: Do I Have PTSD? | Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma

  6. Pingback: Therapist shopping « Crazy In The Coconut

Leave a Reply

