Body Image Acceptance: Operation Beautiful

Every now and then I stumble upon a resource or an idea so great I cannot wait to share it with others.  Operation Beautiful is such an idea.

The mission: Post encouraging notes in public places for other women to find.

Negative body messages are everywhere. We are so inundated that many internalize and have a constant body critique running in their heads.

In my 20+ years of experience working with eating disorders and trauma, I have been keenly aware of the intensity of body image struggles that many contend with and the damage this does.  As a feminist therapist I truly believe that the diet industry and our cultural fat phobia helps pave the way for the development of all forms of eating disorders. Trauma survivors may be especially vulnerable,  in that they at times blame themselves and their bodies for the abuses they have suffered.

One form this inner critique can take is  “Fat Talk”.  For more information, check out this video from Fat Talk Free Week

The idea behind Operation Beautiful is simple yet the implementation of it has the potential to be oh so powerful.  And moving.  I was very touched viewing the pictures at the site.  My words do not do it justice, so take a look yourself and let me know what you think!

If you are moved to participate I’d love to hear about your experiences!

Kathleen Young, Psy.D.

Bookmark and Share

This entry was posted in Anorexia, Body Image, Bulimia, Chicago, Eating Disorders, Health, Psychologist, Self-care, Trauma, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Body Image Acceptance: Operation Beautiful

  1. THis is a fantastic Idea. Tell me how I can help. We all have negative self talk. A counselor once told me to visulize a chest of drawyers and if a negative though popped out I was to open up a drawyer and put it in and take out a positve one in its place. It helped me agreat deal

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Mary Anne!

      Great idea, substituting positive thoughts for the negative ones.

      I think we can all work on this within ourselves, by talking about it with each other, and by leaving the public positive message notes if we are so moved.

  2. Lee Horton says:

    Great post. I passed this on to my daughters, whom I hope know they are beautiful.

  3. Susan Woda says:

    ‘Just wanted to let you know that the 2009 Fat Talk Free Week video will be available on October 19 at http://www.endfattalk.com. We hope you’ll share it with your networks!!!

  4. Pingback: Overcoming Negative Self-Talk « Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma in Chicago

  5. Pingback: Treating Trauma Turns One: Reflections On A Year Of Blogging « Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma in Chicago

  6. Pingback: Fat Talk Free Week | Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma in Chicago

  7. Pingback: Freedom and Trauma Survivors | Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma

Leave a Reply

