EMDRIA Announces Upcoming Conference: EMDR: From Trauma to Dissociation

I just got notification of an upcoming  conference, EMDR: From Trauma to Dissociation, presented by the EMDR International Association (EMDRIA). It will be held in Minneapolis September 30 – October 3, 2010. The schedule includes  big names from the dissociation, trauma and EMDR field such as Colin Ross MD and Onno van der Hart, Ph.D. I have been fortunate enough to hear them both speak in the past and it is well worth it!

I completed EMDR training several years ago and find it to be an invaluable tool for processing trauma. I plan to write more about EMDR in an upcomong post but wanted to share the conference information right away.

For now, EMDRIA has this to say about EMDR:

Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) is a method of psychotherapy that has been extensively researched and proven effective for the treatment of trauma.  EMDR is a set of standardized protocols that incorporates elements from many different treatment approaches. To date, EMDR has helped an estimated two million people of all ages relieve many types of psychological stress. Read EMDRIA’s clinical definition of EMDR.

I’d love to hear your EMDR questions and experiences in preparation for the upcoming post. Is there something you’d like to know? Ask away!

Kathleen Young, Psy.D.

Bookmark and Share



This entry was posted in Dissociation, Health, Mental Health, Therapy, Trauma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to EMDRIA Announces Upcoming Conference: EMDR: From Trauma to Dissociation

  1. Jeanette says:

    Dr. Young,

    I’ve heard that EMDR can sometimes increase the anxiety – short term – of the trauma therapy, possibly overwhelming the patient. Is there any merit to this?

    Thanks!
    Jeanette

  2. Gwenny says:

    I’m afraid my experience was not good, although I still believe EMDR would be an appropriate therapy for me. The problem was not the process but the therapist. She was a chronically late person. We never started our sessions on time and would frequently not get started on actual work until my appointment time was half over. Then we would run out of time. So we would have started the process and have me to say 5 on the scale and she’d say, “Oh, I’m sorry. My next client is here. But you can finish this yourself. If you have a crisis, call me any time, you have my number.”

    So there I was, my pain freshly bleeding. I had to drive home and deal with teenage kids, make dinner, deal with my failing marriage to a psychotic man . . .and I was too proud to say I couldn’t do it myself. Some day I hope to find a therapist I can afford to continue the therapy.

    • Hi Gwenny-

      Yikes! No wonder your experience was not so good! Although it sounds like it had less to do with EMDR per se and more to do with the therapeutic alliance (or lack thereof). I am finishing up a series of articles about EMDR that hopefully will address what it takes for it to work well.
      I am truly sorry you had that sort of experience!

Leave a Reply

