Treating Trauma Turns One: Reflections On A Year Of Blogging

Today is the one year anniversary of my blog, Treating Trauma in Chicago.  I like to use anniversaries as a time to reflect on the past year and to consider my goals, plans and hopes for the year to come.  I started blogging with the intention of giving something back. I wanted to share the wealth of experience and information I have gained from over 20 years of work in the trauma field. What I didn’t anticipate was how much I would grow myself. I guess I should have! I do believe that when we give we get; when we teach we learn.

Blogging has opened doors for me, showing me the wealth of resources available through social media networking. I have gained knowledge, networking opportunities and most importantly meaningful connections with trauma professionals, activists and survivors (not that those categories are mutually exclusive). Everyone I have “met”, read, tweeted with and received comments from has given me a gift I very much appreciate.

Some of the highlights of the last year also included:

Overall, what I value so much is how blogging continues to reaffirm what I believe and what brought me to this profession in the first place: that growth and healing are possible, that connections help us grow and heal, that those who work to connect and create something meaningful do indeed out-number those who tear down and do harm.

In my musings on this anniversary and what the year has brought I thought about my blog design. I chose as the header image a picture from the Chicago Botanical Gardens of a lotus. Gardens and nature in general are a big part of how I nurture and replenish myself, one piece of my work to prevent my own compassion fatigue. I have a whole other post full of things to say about how gardening reminds me of the lessons of therapy (growth takes time and is occurring even when we do not see it for example). I was struck by how I unwittingly (unconsciously?) chose an image for this blog as fitting as the lotus by a bit of something I heard the other today. A character on TV was repeating a quote:”the jewel is in the lotus”, described to mean “you already have within you what you need”. To me that says we, all of us, have within us the innate ability to heal, grow and blossom. You may need someone to help you find an environment that facilitates growth, but you definitely can grow and flourish.

Thank you to all I have encountered this year. I look forward to seeing how we grow together in the year to come.

Kathleen Young, Psy.D.

Bookmark  and Share
This entry was posted in Blog Carnival, Health, Mental Health, Online Therapy, Psychologist, PTSD, Self-care, Therapy, Trauma, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Treating Trauma Turns One: Reflections On A Year Of Blogging

  1. shimon cohen says:

    As a fellow Chicagoan congrats. on this milestone. I’ve learned a lot from your blogs and look to the year ahead.

  2. I’m glad that i have met you and look forward to your work. Like so many of us whos goal has been to bring light to the darkness of the many lives we cross, it is sometimes not only tiring, it’s hard those days when you see so much more and so many more that need to be reached. Thank you for being out here and making a difference in the lives of many. LadyJ

  3. Kathleen, congratulations on your one year anniversary. Your blog provides such a great service with the information that you provide about abuse and recovery. Thank you so much. You enrich my life and the lives of many others with your blog. Even in this article you gave me some new resources to check out.

  4. Pingback: Trust the Process: Lessons from Gardening « Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma in Chicago

  5. Kathleen — A belated congratulations on your anniversary! It’s such an accomplishment to be able to look back and see how you have been able to transform and expand your knowledge by sharing it.

    I’m delighted to have been a part of your journey, and very honored to have your post as a permanent feature on my PTSD self-empowered healing blog.

    I hope our message of wellness grows and continues to spread in the upcoming year!

Leave a Reply

