A Picture is Worth…

Thanks to Dr. Deb for turning me on to Tagxedo. It is a nifty program that turns words clouds into pictures. Here’s a graphic representation of what I blog a lot about! The shape even ties with my recent series of Self-love posts.

This seemed like a nice, lighter shift of focus for a Monday. Talking about trauma is heavy. Living through it even more so. In therapy I am all about promoting balance in life, so perhaps my blogging can model that sometimes too. Maybe you’ve noticed  I’ve already been sharing the lighter side of Treating Trauma via my tumblr page. I see that mainly as a way I can share inspirational quotes and photos that touch me in some way. I hope you feel the same. You don’t even have to sign up with tumblr to se that content, I’m sending it to my Twitter and Facebook page too.

What do you do when you need a break?

What are your fun outlets?

Kathleen Young, Psy.D.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Complex Trauma, Health, Mental Health, Psychologist, Quotes, Relaxation, Self-care, Severe Trauma, Therapy, Trauma, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Picture is Worth…

  1. Sharon S says:

    As a full time grad student also doing 21 hours a week at internship, I definitely, need balance in my life to cut the stress and anxiety that comes with, well being a student. Some things that work for me:

    Gardening- I love being out in my yard and planting annuals. It is physical, but in the end, I can enjoy the beauty all season long.

    Meeting friends for dinner- This get me out of the house and we all get to catch up and have a good laugh.

    Watch TV- This one works really well when I just want to zone out on some silly sitcom or show. One hour does miracles (mental down time)

    Walk- I take my dogs for long walks around the neighborhood-best time is early morning or dinner time when it is very quiet. This is my think time and where I try and work out anything that is bothering me.

    Twitter- feeds my brain with a variety of topics and I love the connections I have there.

    Guided Imagery- I have a couple that I love- especially “going to the beach”. I like to listen to these before bed or at school, during a long break between classes.

    Read- A good juicy book works wonders🙂

    Lastly, time with my partner- this is huge and a must. Late night giggles are priceless.

    • Here you are, Sharon🙂

      I think it is great that you are keenly aware of the need for balance while still in grad school! So often those programs seem to encourage the opposite!

      We share feelings about gardening. Just last weekend I was at it again, noting how everything else slips away. Definitely replenishing.

      Very nice list!

  2. Kerro says:

    I’ve had to work hard to find “fun” outlets, seeing as I grew up in home where “fun” was a “special occasion” and not a normal part of life. Some things I’ve found joy in ….

    Music – especially classical. I love going to the symphony, everything just disappears and it’s just me and the music.

    The beach – walking on the sand, feeling the waves lapping at my feet. Nothing better.

    Photography – likewise, just me and the camera.🙂

    Friends – spending time with people I love.

    Cooking – I love it. Getting all messy creating things, chopping, stirring, tossing.

    TV/movies – good for self-distraction.

    And lately, I’ve started colouring and occasionally drawing.🙂

    • Thanks for sharing, Kerro!

      Yes, it really is an accomplishment to learn to have fun when not raised with that being valued.

      Oh, the beach! I feel the same way about that one🙂

      I find myself smiling just reading your list.

  3. P. says:

    For me, it took the longest time to find joy in things. What was even harder for me is to stick to them and keep them interesting.

    I am a full time student and work full time. So there is not that much free time in the first place. But still, I found a few things that keep me going.

    Climbing – there is nothing better than being out in nature hanging off a cliff and just forgetting the world around you.

    Photography – If I can’t put things in words, photos will do it for me.

    Running – After a long day, a run will make things look so much better, even if they aren’t.

    Music – it’s rainy outside, there is nothing to do, turn on some music and the day looks 20 times better.

    Cuddling – there is nothing better than laying in the arms of your partner. And knowing that you are save.

    Soccer/Friends – I love being competitive, and even if I loose with my team, it was still worth it just because I got to have a great time with them.

    There are probably a few more, but these are the ones that stand out the most. And make the biggest difference/🙂

    • Hi P.

      Given that it is challenging for you congrats on such a great and varied list.

      I think it is really great how each of you have described fun in connection to others.

      Thanks for sharing!

  4. Paul says:

    Just happened across this and the image remended me of how when writing my journal adding images that just spring to mind, just little sketches, give such a deeper meaning to my thoughts.
    Just thought I’d share this
    Paul

Leave a Reply

