2011 Intentions

This time of year often has me reflecting, looking back and looking forward. While I am not a fan of resolutions in the traditional sense, I do like setting goals or intentions for the year to come.

In 2010 my goal for Treating Trauma was to explore self-love and healing after trauma. I did (with the help of  guest blogger Darlene Ouimet of Emerging from Broken ) in the following posts:

Shame and Self-Blame After Trauma

Overcoming Negative Self-Talk

What’s Love Got To Do With It? Self-Love and Healing

Learning to Love Yourself After Trauma

Learning to Love Myself ~The Beauty in the Broken

Love Yourself with Gentleness and Compassion

Overcoming Shame through Connection

Self-Care and Trauma Survivors

Does Self-Care Mean Others Don’t?

Self-Care of Your Multiple Selves

Self-Care and Child Parts

Self-love is a topic so central to trauma therapy, I am sure I will revisit it in different ways in the future. My last few posts listed above began to address a topic I intend to explore further in 2011: therapy issues for those with dissociative disorders.

I am also interested in writing about therapy in general, the nuts and bolts of what the process involves.I also intend to write about the therapy process, exploring in-depth the meaning of concepts such as transference, the therapeutic frame, boundaries and resistance. You may have heard these used, but what do they really mean, especially within the context of trauma therapy?

I also welcome reader requests. One thing I so value about blogging is how we inform and inspire each other to further deepen the conversation about trauma and healing.

This entry was posted in Childhood Abuse, Complex Trauma, Dissociation, Dissociative Identity Disorder, Health, Mental Health, Psychologist, PTSD, Self-care, Therapy, Trauma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2011 Intentions

  1. tai0316 says:

    Thank you for listing all the links to these posts. Self-care is such a mystery to me. I’ve talked a little about it on my blog and about the confusion I feel when someone says to do something soothing for myself or something to that effect.

    I’m like you, I don’t do the traditional resolutions but having a new year gives me a timeline I can remember when I’m looking back at how I’ve been doing.

    • Hi Tai-

      I think using this time of year to review your progress in healing is a fantastic idea! I read several examples of survivors doing this and thought, wow! what a valuable practice! My hope for you is that come January 2012 you will be able to look back and see what strides you’ve made in terms of getting this self-soothing stuff. :)

      I appreciate you reading and commenting.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention 2011 Intentions | Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma in Chicago -- Topsy.com

  3. OneSurvivor says:

    Hmm…I am not into “resolutions”, per se, but am into making goals…although that happens all the time. I find that I do better if I can start anew at any time as opposed to at one time in the year.

    Thank you for putting all these posts in one post. That is very helpful!

  4. I really like creating a theme for the New Year. For example: being kind to myself. I can be kind in many differnet ways and I do not ever finish. Like going west you can always keep going west just like you can keep being kind to yourelf. Creating kindness is like moving in a directions towards your dreams.

    LUV your list.

Leave a Reply

