Treating Trauma: Endings and Beginnings

You may have noticed I have not been posting much of late. Where has Treating Trauma been. Or more to the point, where is Treating Trauma going?  After many happy years in Chicago, I am taking on a new adventure. At the end of July I will be relocating to Tucson, Arizona. This will mean I have to close my practice here in Chicago. I will continue to offer some online/distance therapy options.

While I will be taking on a new professional challenge, coordinating a program for survivors of sexual assault, relationship violence and stalking at the University of Arizona, this move is as much (if not more) about the personal than the professional.

Ever since my doctoral internship year spent at the University of Arizona’s Health Sciences Center, Tucson has held a special place in my heart. I am looking forward to a slower pace of life, very different climate (with a whole new type of gardening) and more access to nature overall. These are all things that nurture and recharge me, which in turn keep me able to do this important work.

As I prepare for this move my feelings are many and varied. New beginnings come with endings. Change often involves loss. How hard it is to say goodbye to the local colleagues and clients who have impacted me so profoundly! How hard it is for us caretakers to put our own needs front and center!

As I engage in this process of saying goodbye, of profound change, I hope to model possibilities. It is possible to follow your dream, even when it means taking big risks. It is possible to stay present with your feelings, even when they are painful. It is possible for connections to matter and continue, even as they change form. Saying goodbye can indeed be difficult. Yet it is also an opportunity to continue to grow through staying present and connected, with all our feelings and experiences.

I do not know exactly what will come next, but I look forward to the journey and I will surely keep you posted.

Kathleen Young, Psy.D.

This entry was posted in Chicago, Mental Health, Mindfulness, Online Therapy, Psychologist, Relationships, Self-care, Therapy, Trauma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Treating Trauma: Endings and Beginnings

  1. Becca says:

    I like your blog. Good luck in Arizona…I’ll be jealous come November!! I hate Illinois weather…

  2. Deb says:

    Big changes! Wishing you good luck and an easy transition. Nothing like an adventure to make life grand!

  3. sharon S says:

    Congrats DKY! This sounds exciting🙂 Oh, these life transitions can be rough, as you know I just went through a couple of major ones…however, changes, especially ones of a personal nature can be magical as you discover new things and meet new people. It’s great that you are already familiar with the area and the university. I hope your move and transition go smoothly!

  4. As an incest survivor, I am not sure which is more difficult for me, beginnings or endings. Beginnings bring fear of the unknown and fear of possible failure with trying something new. Endings bring grieving with them. Endings mean a loss of what is familiar and changing relationships with those friends that I am leaving behind. I know that both of these are often a necessary part of life and healing. I wish you the best with your move to Tucson. My best friend here in Arkansas is originally from Tucson. She misses it and has finally accepted Hot Springs as her home away from home. She still calls herself a desert rat.

  5. shimc1Shimon says:

    Very best of luck to you. Arizona’s gain, Chicago’s loss

  6. shimc1Shimon says:

    Oh. and no more Chicago ice and snow-yer lukkie!🙂

  7. Kerro says:

    I have to confess that I experienced mild panic when I read you were moving – LOL – though I have no particular reason to feel that way. I kinda like that you live in Chicago, which is one of the few US cities I can actually visualise. I’m ok now knowing that you’ll be back – your blog is too good to go to blog heaven!!

    Good luck, I hope the move brings you happiness🙂

    • I understand Kerro, it is hard when something we are used to (even if only in our mind’s eye) changes. I’ll post some pictures of cactus, that will help you picture Tucson.🙂

      I appreciate your kind words about this blog…and I do intend to keep writing!

  8. Anonymous says:

    Taking joy in nature is a big, big part of “being” and learning to reconnect for me, whether it’s going out to wander by the water or in the woods, or working in my ever-expanding gardens…I wish you peace and happiness. Selfishly I’m so glad you’re not disappearing from us on the computer, because your understanding has helped me to understand, and your compassion shines through. Thank you, and I’m looking forward to reading more as life permits…

  9. Pingback: Treating Trauma… in Tucson | Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma

  10. Pingback: Private Practice Update | Dr. Kathleen Young: Treating Trauma in Tucson

Leave a Reply

