Mindful Monday: Embrace Weirdness

Happy Monday! Here is a new quote for you. Remember you can approach it with this 5-step mindfulness practice.

Embrace WeirdnessIs there something about you that sets you apart from the crowd, that others may have labeled “weird”? What if this difference is in fact a source of strength? What if we learned to cherish and value our differences instead of judging them?

When I was in elementary school, I loved reptiles and amphibians. In fact, I still do! I loved nothing more than looking for salamanders under rotting logs or feeding the box turtle that passed through the yard. My pride and joy was a terrarium of pet toads . However, when I chose to bring them to school for show and tell my principal commented “that’s an odd hobby for a girl”.  Fortunately, I felt secure enough in this aspect of me that his opinion did not matter. I was able to recognize that his limited gender roles were the problem.

There will be people who are quick to judge those who vary from the norm. Maybe today you can consider that those people have the problem!

There’s nothing wrong with you.

 

This entry was posted in Gender, Mental Health, Mindfulness, Psychologist and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mindful Monday: Embrace Weirdness

  1. Rachel says:

    God bless you for this post. I am 50 years old and have never heard this before, and so needed to. So, OK, I’ve always been thought of as a little weird. However, when I was a child I loved toys that moved and did things – like robots and cars – the Johnny Lightening cars especially and I had hot wheels. One time very young my best friend came over, looked at my toy box, and said “you have boy toys.” The only dolls I ever wanted to play with were Barbies. I did not have the self-esteem to process that well. Thank you, thank you, thank you – I am learning so much about myself, life, and even our American culture through this journey.

Leave a Reply

